2022 MPF Marker Match

July 1, 2022 | Giving, News

Susan Lordi Marker and Dennis Marker will match gifts of any amount up to a total of $25,000 to
create a special prairie stewardship fund this year.

In 2021, the Missouri Prairie Foundation (MPF) acquired five additional properties, including
three donated by the Missouri Chapter of The Nature Conservancy. With these additional
holdings, MPF’s stewardship costs will increase, but the conservation values of these stunning
prairies is priceless.

When The Nature Conservancy donated Goodnight-Henry, Rockhill, and
Shelton L. Cook Memorial Meadow prairies to MPF, the organization also donated $50,000 for future
stewardship costs. This year, MPF invites supporters to grow this amount to $100,000. MPF
lifetime members Susan Lordi Marker and her husband Dennis Marker will match all gifts, of any
amount, to a total of $25,000. Our goal is to raise a total of $50,000, including the match to
create a special $100,000 stewardship fund for these three prairies.


“Because we are prairie owners ourselves, we know first-hand about stewardship costs,
and we want to help MPF build this special fund to sustain the rich diversity of these three
prairies well into the future,” said Susan Lordi Marker. “Prairie protection is not inexpensive, but
we all know it is worth it. Please join Dennis and me in making a gift for MPF’s 2022 campaign.”



This campaign’s goal has been met!

2022 Stewardship Campaign Donors as of November 7,

whose contributions total $25,000:

Karen & John Albright
Kathleen Anderson
Sharon Bachmann
Ruby Ball
Linda & Bob Ballard
Patty & Steven Berry
Anita Berwanger
Marilyn & Dennis Bettenhausen
Cheryl & Guy Burgess
Marty & Rhonda Clark
George & Linda Deatz
Ronald Dellbringge
Susan Cohen & Mitch Krasnopoler
Suzanne Crandall
Susan Dyer
Judy & Vernon Elsberry
Joanne & William Fogarty
David Galat
Andrea & Wilfred Hardiman
Steven Hollenbeck
Jean Keskulla & George Stalker
Venita Kelley
Holly Kinser
Andrea Hamilton Kintree
Bryce Knight
Elizabeth & Austin Lambert
Lea & Dennis Langdon
Marge Lumpe
Nancy Martin
Veronica Mecko
Claire Meyners
The Miller-Hammond Fund
Barbara & Wade Newman
Jeanne Ortega
Orbie Overly
Madalyn Painter
Susan & Kei Pang
Bailey Patterson
Mary Ann Phillips & James Scott
Alex & Cathy Primm
Lois Quenneville
Brian Ritter
Rudi & Judy Roeslein
Susan Rohde
Laura Ross
Bruce & Ann Schuette
Deborah & Don Schultehenrich
Ardis Shipley
Richard Steel
Mary Stuppy
Rheba Symeonoglou
Daniel Terpstra
Rick & Karen Thom
Andrew Williams & Rebecca Christoffel
Kay & George Yatskievych


Photo of Susan Lordi Marker and Dennis Marker by Rick Kraft



Donate to the Missouri Prairie Foundation

Related Stories

MPF’s 2022 Accomplishments & End-of-Year Giving

MPF’s 2022 Accomplishments & End-of-Year Giving

Make an end-of-year charitable donation. Thanks to you and other supporters, the Missouri Prairie Foundation (MPF) and its Grow Native! program accomplish a sustained, high level of conservation activity to benefit prairie and people, and to promote the use of native...

Missouri Prairie Foundation on Nature Revisited Podcast

Missouri Prairie Foundation on Nature Revisited Podcast

Missouri Prairie Foundation is featured on Episode 82 of the Nature Revisited podcast, broadcast today. MPF Executive Director Carol Davit and Vice President of Science and Management Bruce Schuette talk about prairie's natural and human-influenced history, its vital...