The Missouri Prairie Foundation (MPF) Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for awards to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions for the cause of prairies and prairie flora and fauna. To nominate someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the cause of prairies in any of the categories listed below, please complete the online form here, or, download and complete the MPF Award Nominations Form and email it to One need not be a member of MPF to be nominated for an award. Current MPF Board members are not eligible to receive an award. All nominations must be received by the Awards Committee by June 10 of the current year. Awards will be announced and presented at the Missouri Prairie Foundation’s Annual Dinner in August.

Prairie Communicator of the Year

William A. Davit Award
The William A. Davit Award will be bestowed on an individual who has been exceptionally effective in educating, communicating, or advocating for prairie such as teachers, writers, photographers, artists, and speakers.

Past recipients include:
  • Mary Nemecek (2018)
  • Gary Schimmelpfenig (2016)

Prairie Landowner of the Year

Clair M. Kucera Award

The Clair M. Kucera Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the cause of prairie through ownership/stewardship.

Past recipients include:

  • Bonnie Teel (2018)
  • Susan Lordi Marker and Dennis Marker (2016)
  • Glen Wilson (2015)
  • Lorna Domke (2014)
  • Dr. Curtis Long (2013)
  • Rudi Roeslein (2012)
  • Wayne Morton (2011)
  • Jeff Tillman (2009)

Prairie Pioneer of the Year

Dick Dawson Award
The Dick Dawson Award is presented to an individual, group, or business who made an outstanding contribution as an early promoter/leader to the cause of prairie conservation through activities such as advocating for the acquisition and conservation of original prairie, prairie plantings in public spaces; encouraging/assisting implementation of prairie plantings/reconstructions in privately owned landscapes; advocating or promoting prairie plantings/protection and/or promoting understanding of prairie value through research, or publications.

Past recipients include:

  • Dr. Walter Schroeder (2018)
  • St. Charles Country Parks and Recreation Department (2017)

Prairie Professional of the Year

Bill T. Crawford Award
The Bill T. Crawford Award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding professional contribution to the cause of prairies.

Past recipients include:
  • Emily Horner (2018)
  • David Darrow (2017)
  • Ken McCarty (2016)
  • Randy Haas (2015)
  • Mervin Wallace (2014)
  • Doug Ladd (2013)
  • Mike Leahy (2012)
  • Len Gilmore (2011)
  • John Murphy (2009)
  • Steve Clubine (2007)
  • Rick Thom (2006)

Prairie Volunteer of the Year

Donald M. Christisen Award
The Donald M. Christisen Award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the cause of prairies through volunteer service.

Past recipients include:
  • Ann Earley & Bob Siemer (2018)
  • Linda Ballard (2017)
  • Ric and Jean Mayer (2016)
  • Lance Jessee (2015)
  • Monte Abbott (2014)
  • Stan Parrish (2013)
  • Van Wiskur (2012)
  • Jeff Cantrell (2011)
  • Don Kollmeyer (2007)
  • Doris Sherrick (2006)